Peru Travel - Train Bus Flights

Discussion in 'Peru' started by bugger, Aug 28, 2006.

1. bugger

bugger New Member

I'm looking for options for traveling from Cusco to Lake Titicaca and while flights are possible i would like to travel via land and catch some scenery. Any suggestions?

2. d360

d360 Administrator

Hey Bugger,

I've taken the train from Cusco to Titicaca and its a fantasic ride with plenty of stops in towns. The tracks a bit old but it all added to the character. Here's the Train Cusco to Puno stopped for a break. Here's the Train Route and Booking information

Cruz del Sur has bus service from Cuzco to Puno and it takes 6 hours.

I personally enjoyed the train ride and would recommend this over the bus for the experience.

3. Lola

Lola New Member

Hi Bugger,
    Before working with Peru For Less I worked as a guide, and besides that, I've lived here in Peru for a few years now, and I've been to Cuzco and Puno both a number of times. Regarding travel between Cuzco and Puno, I think you're making a good decision in not taking a plane. That area is geographically stunning, and it is worth taking the extra time to let it soak in. You have two main options: train or bus. I'll give you what in my experience are the pros and cons of both:

TRAIN: